The National Horseracing Museum Jockey on Horse
Browse Archive
Order Print
More Info
Museum Homepage
Horses Trainers Jockeys Owners Breeders Races

This information has been carefully compiled but you are advised to double check the data with printed sources as the Museum cannot be held responsible for any errors or omissions. Please note that, for example, Edward VII is always listed with this title (for cross referencing purposes) even though at the time of some of his wins he was still the Prince of Wales - this applies to several individuals who inherited or were given titles in the course of their racing careers.

2000 Guineas | 1000 Guineas | Derby | Oaks | St Leger | Cheltenham Gold Cup | Grand National
Cheltenham Gold Cup
First Run: 1924
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Current distance: 3 miles, 2 furlongs

The Cheltenham Gold Cup was founded to provide a conditions race where all horses would meet on an equal basis, with an age allowance for five-year-olds and now also one for mares of 5lb. This was to contrast with the Grand National, where handicapping meant that all the horses' chances were equal, at least in theory. By the 1930s the race was established in its own right, rather than as a preliminary of the Grand National. It has rarely been won by a moderate horse, and in the 30s it was dominated by Golden Miller, who won it five times.
Date Horse Jockey Trainer Owner
1924 Red Splash F Rees Frederick Withington H Wyndham
1925 Ballinode Thomas Leader F Morgan J C Bentley
1926 Koko J Hamey A Bickley F Barbour
1927 Thrown In Mr H Grosvenor Owen Anthony Lord Stalbridge
1928 Patron Saint F Rees H Harrison F W Keen
1929 Easter Hero F Rees John Anthony J H Whitney
1930 Easter Hero T Cullinan John Anthony J H Whitney
1931 No race - - -
1932 Golden Miller T Leader A Briscoe Hon Dorothy Paget
1933 Golden Miller W Stott A Brsicoe Hon Dorothy Paget
1934 Golden Miller G Wilson A Briscoe Hon Dorothy Paget
1935 Golden Miller G Wilson A Briscoe Hon Dorothy Paget
1936 Golden Miller E Williams O Anthony Hon Dorothy Paget
1937 No race - - -
1938 Morse Code D Morgan I Anthony D Part
1939 Brendan's Cottage G Owen G Beeby Mrs A S Bingham
1940 Roman Hackle E Williams O Anthony Hon Dorothy Paget
1941 Poet prince R Burford I Anthony D Sherbrooke
1942 Medoc II H Nicholson R Hobbs Lord Sefton
1943 No race - - -
1944 No race - - -
1945 Red Power D Jones Lord Stalbridge Lord Stalbridge
1946 Prince Regent T Hyde T Dreaper J V Rank
1947 Fortina R Black H Christie Lord Grimthorpe
1948 Cottage Rake A Brabazon M V O'Brien F Vickerman
1949 Cottage Rake A Brabazon M V O'Brien F Vickerman
1950 Cottage Rake A Brabazon M V O'Brien F Vickerman
1951 Silver Fame M Molony G Beeby Lord Bicester
1952 Mont Tremblant D Dick F Walwyn Hon Dorothy Paget
1953 Knock Hard T Molony M V O'Brien Mrs M Keogh
1954 Four Ten T Cusack J Roberts A Strange
1955 Gay Donald A Grantham J Ford P Burt
1956 Limber Hill J Power W Dutton J Davey
1957 Linwell M Scudamore C Mallon D Brown
1958 Kerstin S Hayhurst C Bewicke G Moore
1959 Roddy Owen H Beasley D Morgan Lord Fingall
1960 Pas Seul W Rees R Turnell J Rogerson
1961 Saffron Tartan F Winter D Butchers G Westmacott
1962 Mandarin F Winter F Walwyn Mme K Hennessy
1963 Mill House G W Robinson F Walwyn W Gollings
1964 Arkle P Taaffe T Dreaper Duchess of Westminster
1965 Arkle P Taaffe T Dreaper Duchess of Westminster
1966 Arkle P Taaffe T Dreaper Duchess of Westminster
1967 Woodland Venture T Biddlecombe F Rimell H Collins
1968 Fort Leney P taaffe T Dreaper J Thomson
1969 What a Myth P Kelleway H R Price Lady Weir
1970 L'Escargot T Carberry D Moore R Guest
1971 L'Escargot T Carberry D Moore R Guest
1972 Glencaraig Lady F Berry F Flood P Doyle
1973 The Dikler R Barry F Walwyn Mrs D August
1974 Captain Christy H Beasley P Taaffe Mrs J Samuel
1975 Ten Up T Carberry J Dreaper Duchess of Westminster
1976 Royal Frolic J Burke F Rimell Sir E Hanmer
1977 Davy Lad D T Hughes M O'Toole Mrs J McGowan
1978 Midnight Court J Francome F Winter Mrs O Jackson
1979 Alverton J J O'Neill M H Easterby Snailwell Stud Ltd
1980 Master Smudge R Hoare A Barrow A Barrow
1981 Little Owl A J Wilson M H Easterby R J Wilson
1982 Silver Buck R Earnshaw M Dickinson Mrs C Feather
1983 Bregawn G Bradley M Dickinson J Kennelly
1984 Burrough Hill Lad P Tuck Mrs J Pitman R S Riley
1985 Forgive'N'Forget M Dwyer J Fitzgerald T Kilroe & Sons
1986 Dawn Run J J O'Neill P Mullins Mrs C Hill
1987 The Thinker R Lamb W A Stephenson T McDonagh Ltd
1988 Charter Party R Dunwoody D Nicholson Mrs C Smith
1989 Desert Orchid S Sherwood D Elsworth R Burridge
1990 Norton's Coin G McCourt S Griffths S Griffiths
1991 Garrison Savannah M Putman Mrs J Pitman Autofour Engineering
1992 Cool Ground A Maguire G Balding Whatcombe Manor Racing
1993 Jodami M Dwyer P Beaumont J N Yeadon
1994 The Fellow A Kondrat D Doumen Marquesa de Moratella
1995 Master Oats N Williamson K C Bailey P A Matthews
1996 Imperial Call C O'Dwyer F Sutherland Lisselan Farms Ltd
1997 Mr Mulligan A McCoy N Chance M & G Worcester
1998 Cool Dawn A Thornton R Almer The Hon Miss D Harding
1999 See More Business M Fitzgerald P Nicholls P Barber & J Keighley
2000 Looks Like Trouble R Johnson N Chance T Collins
2001 No race - - -
2002 Best Mate J Culloty Miss H Knight J Lewis
2003 Best Mate J Culloty Miss H C Knight J Lewis
2004 Best Mate J Culloty Miss H C Knight J Lewis
2005 Kicking King B J Geraghty T J Taaffe Conor Clarkson
2006 War of Attrition C O'Dwyer M F Morris Gigginstown House Stud
2007 Kauto Star Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls Clive D Smith
2008 Denman Sam Thomas Paul Nicholls P Barber & Mrs M Findlay
2009 Kauto Star Ruby Walsh Paul Nicholls Clive D Smith
2010 Imperial Commander P J Brennan N A Twiston-Davies Our Friends in the North
2011 Long Run Sam Waley-Cohen Nicky Henderson Robert Waley-Cohen
2012 Synchronised Tony McCoy Jonjo O'Neill J P McManus
2013 Bobs Worth Barry Geraghty Nicky Henderson The Not Afraid partnership

Copyright © 2003 All rights reserved worldwide The National Horseracing Museum