The National Horseracing Museum Jockey on Horse
Profile: Person
Order Print
More Info
Museum Homepage

   Recently viewed:


Darling, Frederick (1884 - 1953)

Breeder (B),  Trainer (T)

Also Known As:  Fred Darling

Associated Places:  Beckhampton, Wiltshire


Fred Darling, son of Sam Darling Senior, was master of Beckhampton from 1914 to 1947. Hard, uncompromising and ruthless, his stable jockey, Gordon Richards, said of him 'There has been no trainer like him and there never will be. I describe him as a genius'. Fred Darling trained the winners of 19 Classics including 7 Derby winners.

Fred Darling won 26 races the year after he began training, including the Cesarewitch for Lily Langtry. He trained in Germany before returning to take over his father's Beckhampton stable. The horse he rated as his best was one of his first here - Hurry On, bought by Darling for Mr James Buchanan (later Lord Woolavington). Hurry On's son Captain Cuttle adored him so much he held onto his coat sleeves with his teeth; he provided him with his first Derby winner. Later he was to train for George VI, including Big Game and Sun Chariot. When he retired in 1947 he bred yearlings near Beckhampton, including Pinza.

Important successes:

2000 Guineas
Manna   1925   (T)
Cameronian   1931   (T)
Cameronian   1931   (T)
Pasch   1938   (T)
Big Game   1942   (T)
Tudor Minstrel   1947   (T)
1000 Guineas
Four Course   1931   (T)
Sun Chariot   1942   (T)
Captain Cuttle   1922   (T)
Manna   1925   (T)
Coronach   1926   (T)
Cameronian   1931   (T)
Cameronian   1931   (T)
Bois Roussel   1938   (T)
Pont l'Eveque   1940   (T)
Pont l'Eveque   1940   (B)
Pont l'Eveque   1940   (O)
Owen Tudor   1941   (T)
Pinza   1953   (B)
Commotion   1941   (T)
Sun Chariot   1942   (T)
St Leger
Hurry On   1916   (T)
Coronach   1926   (T)
Sun Chariot   1942   (T)
Other major race(s)
(featuring horses in this database)
St James's Palace Stakes  Captain Cuttle   1922   (T)
Eclipse Stakes  Coronach   1926   (T)
Cheveley Park Stakes, Newmarket  Tiffin   1928   (T)
July Cup, Newmarket  Tiffin   1929   (T)
Middle Park Stakes, Newmarket  Press Gang   1929   (T)
Champagne Stakes, Doncaster  Myrobella   1932   (T)
King George Stakes, Goodwood  Myrobella   1933   (T)
Challenge Stakes, Newmarket  Myrobella   1933   (T)
Queen Anne Stakes  Fair Trial   1935   (T)

<< Back

Copyright © 2003 All rights reserved worldwide The National Horseracing Museum